England have named Wasps fly-half Danny Cipriani in their 34 man squad for the upcoming tour of South Africa this summer.

Owen Farrell has been chosen to captain his county as Dylan Hartley remains out injured.

Coach Eddie Jones has elected to rest a number of key players with Danny Care, James Haskell and Dan Cole all missing out on the tour.

Three uncapped players have also made the squad of 34; Sale back Cameron Redpath, Wasps flanker Jack Willis and New Zealand-born flanker Brad Shields.

Billy Vunipola of Saracens comes back into the squad after a year absence having not played for his country since last year’s Six Nations campaign.

The returning Cipriani is set to earn his first caps since 2015 and will leave his current club Wasps at the end of the current season.

Following the squad announcement Jones spoke about selecting Cipriani for the first time:

I’ve never picked him, so I’ve picked him for the first time. I’ve watched him play closely and he deserves an opportunity. He’s got to prove he’s the best 10 in the squad, or the best 15.

England squad to tour South Africa:

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Cipriani (Wasps), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Nathan Earle (Saracens), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks), Dan Robson (Wasps), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks), Ben Spencer (Saracens), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Forwards: Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ben Earl (Saracens), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Brad Shields (Hurricanes/Wasps), Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Jack Willis (Wasps), Mark Wilson (Newcastle)