England full-back Mike Brown has not been cited for kicking Ireland scrum-half Conor Murray in the head the left the Munsterman requiring stitches above his eye.
RBS Six Nations organisers today announced that Brown was not going to be cited for the incident that happened during the final 10 minutes at Twickenham on Saturday after the Harlequins star caught Murray in the face with his boot as he attempted to dislodge the ball from his hands.
The incident was closely analysed by the match officials as the referee went to the TMO in order to make an informed decision and ruled that the contact was not deliberate and had been accidental.
As reported by Sky Sports, the 30-year-old found out on Monday that he would not be facing disciplinary action and would be free to face Wales on 12 March at Twickenham.
Both head coaches also agreed with the decision not to cite Brown and asserted that there is always a risk of being struck by a boot when prone on the ground.
@dionwesty thank you! Video ref clearly showed I didn't and kicked the ball.
— Mike Brown (@mikebrown_15) February 28, 2016
Speaking after the result on Saturday, Ireland’s head coach Joe Schmidt said:
They made a decision on the field, but it’s something they’ll probably look back at because Conor’s obviously got stitches right next to his eye.
That strategy is fraught with risk, particularly with players in close proximity, but I know that Mike Brown wouldn’t have done it on purpose, he’s trying to connect with the ball.
But it’s something we don’t influence, that’s for other people to determine whether he’s culpable for being reckless or whatever.
While Eddie Jones also defended his full-back, saying:
The referee adjudicated on it, it was fair. If the ball is on the ground, then you are allowed to kick it, aren’t you?